California Files New Lawsuit Against Trump’s EPA

California, along with 18 other states, have joined efforts to file a lawsuit against President Donald Trump stating that he and his EPA have violated the Clean Air Act by not following the regulations they set forth by scrapping the national vehicle emissions standards that were set in place to help cut air pollution, carbon emissions into the air and oil consumption.


Governor of California Jerry Brown recently referred to President Trump as a one man demolition derby against both science and any efforts for clean air. Using President Trump’s own name calling actions against him, Gov. Brown referred to Scott Pruitt, Chief of the EPA, as Outlaw Pruitt.


Just one month ago, the EPA announced that it would be rolling back the regulations set forth during the Obama terms that tightened fuel standards on vehicles. It required that automakers, who agreed to the regulations in 2012, would create vehicles that averaged about 545 miles per gallon by 2025. That is nearly double the fuel efficiency of today’s vehicles. In turn, these new standards would likely drop oil consumption by consumers by roughly 12 billion barrels as well as preventing about 6 billion metric tons of planet warming gases from entering the ozone, in turn saving consumers between $3,200 and $5,700 in gasoline cost during the lifetime of each vehicle. In the statement rolling back these regulations, the EPA stated that it was reconsidering how these regulations would affect climate change and instead said that by removing these regulations, consumers would be benefitted with lower gas prices.


Upon this announcement, Washington, D.C., California and 17 other states objected with a lawsuit. They claim to be representing about 140 million American citizens as well as nearly half of the U.S. car market. This is the tenth lawsuit the state of California has filed against the EPA. Other plaintiffs in this current case include the states of Connecticut, Illinois, Maine, Massachusetts, New Jersey, Oregon, Rhode Island, Virginia, Washington, Delaware, Iowa, Maryland, Minnesota, New York, Pennsylvania and Vermont. The case was filed with the U.S. Court of Appeals in the Washington D.C. Circuit and is awaiting its day to be heard. For more information on this topic, head to Huffington Post.